| 01904 806429
Osbaldwick Primary Academy logo

RE Sequence of Knowledge

RE substantive knowledge

Children are taught the basis of four key religions during their time at OPA:

Christianity, Hinduism, Judaism and Islam. 

They learn about the beliefs of these four religions and their different practices. Above all they learn about the people who practise these four religions. In KS2, children will also learn about further beliefs such as Humanism and green religion.

RE Disciplinary Knowledge

Children learn how to ask questions about the substantive knowledge they have acquired. They learn to think critically and apply the information they have learnt about different religions, which helps them to understand the differences and similarities between themselves and others. This process allows them to develop respect, tolerance and empathy as well as a deeper understanding of religions and beliefs around the world.

At OPA, RE is taught on a two-year cycle. Through the three strands of believing, expressing and living, knowledge is revisited and extended. Key questions such as What does it mean to belong to a faith community? (KS1 Cycle A Spring 2)  incorporates both substantive and disciplinary knowledge. All four religions are woven carefully into the curriculum to ensure that substantive knowledge is revisited and prior learning is retained, recalled and extended. 

Faith leaders such as the local Vicar, Imam and humanist speaker visit the school. Regular assemblies delivered by YoYo (York Schools and Youth Trust) and visits to St Thomas’ Church and the Mosque are also built into the curriculum.